Monday, June 25, 2012

MONDAY: Meet the Author Rick Riordan

Click here to view home page.

My Photo

San Antonio, Texas, United States
Rick Riordan is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of many books, including the Percy Jackson & the Olympians series, the Kane Chronicles, the Tres Navarre mysteries, and 39 Clues: The Maze of Bones.


Rick Riordan

Richard Russell "Rick" Riordan (/ˈraɪərˌdɛn/), Jr. (born June 5, 1964)[1] is an 
American author best known for writing the Percy Jackson & the Olympians  series. 
He also wrote the Tres Navarre mystery series for adults[2] and helped to edit 
Demigods and Monsters , a collection of essays on the topic of his Percy Jackson series. 
He helped develop the ten books in The 39 Clues  series, published by Scholastic 
Corporation, and wrote the first book in the series, The Maze of Bones .[3]He recently 
completed a trilogy that focuses on Egyptian mythologyThe Kane Chronicles , and is 
working on The Heroes of Olympus , which is the sequel to the Percy Jackson series 
and focuses on Greek and Roman mythology.

Riordan has created many successful book series. The multi-award-winning[7] Tres Navarre 
mystery series for adults follows the fast-paced adventures of an erudite Texan private eye. 
Riordan also helped create the children's book series The 39 Clues ; he authored several 
of its books, including The Maze of Bones , which topped the New York Times Best Seller 
list on September 28, 2008.[8] His Percy Jackson and the Olympians series  features a
 twelve-year-old who discovers he is the modern-day son of an ancient Greek god. Twentieth 
Century Fox purchased the film rights and released a feature film February 12, 2010. 
Following the success of Percy Jackson, Rick Riordan created The Kane Chronicles 
which features a modern-day Egyptian pantheon and two new sibling protagonists. 
Its first book, The Red Pyramid , was released May 4, 2010; the sequel, The Throne Of 
Fire , was released May 3, 2011.[9] The third book in the Kane Chronicles, 
The Serpent's Shadow , was released May 1, 2012. Riordan also created a sequel 
series to the Percy Jackson books, The Heroes of Olympus . Its first book, The Lost Hero 
was released in the U.S. October 12, 2010; the sequel,The Son of Neptune , was released 
October 4, 2011. 
Riordan expanded both series simultaneously. He has completed The Kane Chronicles 
a trilogy, and continues to write The Heroes of Olympus , which will have five books.
The San Diego Comic-Con International 2010 featured Riordan as a guest.[10] 
Rick Riordan lives in San Antonio with his wife and their two sons Patrick and Haley, 
who inspired his Percy Jackson series.

Published books

Olympian Demigod Series

Series One: Percy Jackson and the Olympians

Series Two: The Heroes of Olympus

The 39 Clues Series

Tres Navarre Series

The Kane Chronicles

Stand alone novels

Untitled Norse Series


No comments:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...